WOMAN to WOMAN

W2W_Header_2012_500

I happen to be in Mumbai last week. And I met my relative’s relative, yes I met Aunty.

Like I have always been, Aunty asked so what do you do?

I said “I am an Independent Training Professional”

Aunty: Ok, so what you train on?

I said : I train on Etiquettes, Personality development, Attitude, Time Management, Spoken English and Lateral thinking to name a few, and I am working on modules for women .

Aunty: I don’t understand what is the point you are doing all this?

I said: I didn’t get you

Aunty: See you tell me “what is the end result of whatever you are doing?”

I said: I am following my passion and I gives me immense satisfaction

Aunty: Oh please yeh sab kuch nahi hota hai , sab faltu hai , ultimately women’s life is getting married, having kids then you have to sit at home, never and ever you will be the one who is taking care of your household expenses.

I said: Is it?

Aunty: Yes, All this will not take you anywhere; you are born to take care of parents, then husband and then kids that are your world, nothing else.

And thereon I was listening to all her reasons why women should be at home and all her illogical reasons of being at home.

Strange! Isn’t it?

We talk about gender equality with men, have we ever thought it’s women who puts other women down?  Forget about men what they think. Let’s talk about what woman think of other woman. And it’s not just this experience I have had numerous experiences where in its women who have said me on face “It’s no point focussing on your career, ultimately life is at home”

Let us take examples of Mary Kom, Priyanka Chopra, Indra Noyee, Sania Mirza all have gone beyond their comfort zones, crossing all the barriers and created their remark.

It takes courage to follow dreams for woman in India. Let’s first support each other. It’s WOMEN support for WOMEN! I am sure the day WOMAN will support to WOMAN, gender equality shall take place on it’s own.

Leave a comment